Rachel Mance

2022 Gloria W. White Distinguished Service Awardee

Watch as Chancellor Martin and Dr. Shantay Bolton surprise Rachel with the award announcement!

Honoring Exceptional Danforth Campus Staff

Gloria W. White

The Gloria W. White Distinguished Service Award honors staff who go beyond their daily work to make an impact on Washington University in St. Louis. The award is meant to recognize staff who work from the heart to move the university forward. The announcement of the employee who will receive the Award and the check for $1,000 will be made during this year’s Recognition Days celebration.

This award was established in honor of former vice chancellor for human resources, Gloria W. White. White served at WashU from 1967 to 1997. The university established an award in White’s name to be presented annually to a staff member who has made exceptional contributions to the University. Learn more about Gloria W. White.


Recipients must be non-academic staff members with a minimum of five (5) years of service to the university who demonstrate these contributions:

  • strengthen the organization’s ability to promote learning;
  • help to create a positive working and learning environment;
  • improve the community, both within and beyond WashU; and
  • enhance WashU’s reputation.

As leaders, it is important we take time to recognize the contributions of our staff and colleagues. By doing so, we help create a stronger, more engaged workforce and enhance our collective success as a university.”

– Andrew D. Martin, Chancellor
Past Recipients

2020-21 Award

Jill Edwards, senior project manager for university accreditation in the Office of the Provost, was honored with the 2021 Gloria W. White Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes a nonacademic staff member for exceptional effort that has bettered the university.

2020-2021 – Jill Edwards

2019 – Thomas Brounk

2018 – Wesley Brooks

2017 – Phyllis Jackson

2016 – Bobby Golliday

2015 – Cynthia Cosby

2014 – Kathleen Cook

2013 – Harvey Fields

2012 – Pat Smith

2011 – Beverly M. Owens

2010 – Donna Williams

2009 – Tamara King

2008 – Sue Hosack

2007 – John “Chris” Kroeger

2006 – Edwin Hiss

2005 – Rudolph Clay

2004 – Marcia Holleran

2003 – Georgia Binnington

2002 – Delise Le Pool

2001 – Jim Burmeister

2000 – Verena Weber

1999 – Denise Hirschbeck

1998 – Myrl Funk